Letter of Apology to Mark Salomon

So in light of recent events i sent a letter to Mark Salomon, lead singer of Stavesacre, my favorite band to apologize for the fact that i downloaded stavesacres albums in the past. Here it is:

Hey Mark,

My name is XXXXXXXXXXX and I’ve messaged you a few times before. More recently about some pretty hilarious movies, but anyway… I feel the need for an apology but first hopefully a semi-short explanation.

Stavesacre is one of my favorite bands, has been seen high school… i could go on and on about how awesome you guys are, how passionate the lyrics are and how you guys just flat out rock but i’ll spare you what you must hear pretty dern often and hopefully tell you something people probably don’t too often.

I have been a “Christian” since i was 7 years old but i never took it seriously. I played the good Christian boy in front of others for so long yet i was just a sinner like everyone else. God gave me a wake up call in college. I finally found out what it means to be a Christian. I went through most of my life and i rarely ever read the Bible… amazing how i claimed to follow something i never read… now i try my best not only to read my Bible everyday but to study and understand it.

In high school i was heavy into downloading music. I was poor and i really liked music so free music sounded like a good idea to me. I stole most of the stavesacre albums you release. I’m sorry, truly i really am. I am beginning to understand just how much time and effort goes into writing a record and with the click of the mouse i just steal all that hard work. I am sorry. I am truly repentant. I have learned that repentance is not only feeling sorry for something but turning from it and not doing it anymore. I have ceased downloading music and have actually began a project. I am going to purchase every album i downloaded, it’s my way of making things right, so that will include stavesacres albums, and i’m excited to own them.

If you want to read more, i keep a blog of my search for all the albums i stole here: barnavkristus. wordpress. com

but anyway, all of that was just to say that i am sorry i stole from you, Sam, Dirk, Jeff, Ryan — even Neil and Jeremy…

I love the music you guys write and from now on i will do my best to support you and any other band i like buy legally purchasing the music!

God Bless you Mark!

Jake

Leave a Reply

