Ep. 5 – Un-freaking-Believable! Blindside, Brave Saint Saturn, and More! – June 19th, 2008

Today was pay-day, and my day off so i went out hunting…  I decided to check out some other record stores in my area this time so today i stopped by “Blast in the Past.”  It was located on gratiot (again), between Utica and Martin (i don’t know why, but there are three record stores within a mile of each other on gratiot, go figure…)   I liked the place, kind of a half was point between Record Time and Hot Hits…  It wasn’t as nice as Record Time but i didn’t get bad vibes from the place like i did from Hot Hits.

Today’s trip was hands down the most productive one yet!  I am still in shock over what i found.

So here goes:  I walked in the store and started browsing the rack and as i am i listen to this owner of the store talk to a couple other old guys.  They are reminiscing about the days when gas was $1 and White Castle Burgers were 12 cents.  Then he launches into a story about how he hitchhiked with these guys once and they where smoking weed in the car and they rolled a joint as “big as a cigar” and he got a contact high… They sat and reminisced more about the days when anyone would give you a ride if you just stuck your thumb out, i was mildly amused.  I could tell that they didn’t get new CDs in very often and that their regulars probably didn’t like the obscure bands i do because i found some real gems, check it:

“Silence” – Blindside

"Silence" - Blindside

This album is one of my desert island top five for sure.  If you would have asked me a few years ago it would have been my #1!  I got into Blindside right around the time this album was released, right as i began high school.  I had my new best friend Andrew download this album for me, amoung others.  I was in love with this album for years to come, i listened to it so many times and i know the whole album front to back…  This album quickly made Blindside my favorite band and they stayed that way until early in college when another band i had also loved for awhile eeked their way to the top, that band, of course is the great Stavesacre.  Like I said, when i found this album today i was blown away.  And what’s more, it was unopened – never before used!  Price Paid: $5

“Tales of the Knife” – Lucerin Blue

"Tales of the Knife" - Lucerin Blue

This album is closely related to Silence by Blindside in my life.  My friend downloaded and burned this album for me on the same day as silence but i actually didn’t listen to it until atleast a few weeks later because as soon as i put silence in my CD player it stayed there for that long!  This under-rated album by what anyone in the world of popular music would call a “One-Hit Wonder” band, is one that i have loved for a long time.  You may remember the song “Monday in Vegas” getting some secular radio play back in 2003… i specifically remember one time it was on the radio while i was in the dark room of my high school photography class, i was shocked because i normally didn’t listen to the radio and i had no idea that anyone even knew about Lucerin Blue, let alone they were being played on secular radio stations… This is a good hard rock albums with some nice piano parts here and there, has kind of a rap-rock sound at times, but it is very good.  Found it today, unopened as well!  Price Paid: $5

“Adventures in Tokyo” – Calibretto 13

"Adventures in Tokyo" - Calibretto 13

Not much to say about this band except that I’ve always liked their original sound (horror / surf punk) and the content of their lyrics.  Listened to them a lot last summer, now i finally own one of their albums! Price Paid: $5

“The Light of Things Hoped For” – Brave Saint Saturn

"The Light of Things Hoped For" - Brave Saint Saturn

In the wake of the demise of (in my opinion) the best christian ska band ever, Five Iron Frenzy, i was sad… I mean really sad, you must understand how much i loved FIF…  In that post-mortem stage i desperately searched for something to fill that Five Iron shaped hole in my heart.  A few years earlier i had heard about a side project some of the band members had done (most notably Reese Roper) called Brave Saint Saturn.  The “Space-rock” band was an outlet for some of Reese’s sadder lyrics that didn’t quite fit with Five Iron…  I downloaded there albums because i wanted more FIF, i kept them because i love BSS.  I doesn’t really sound anything like Five Iron Frenzy, but their albums are beautiful!  I am proud to now own one of the two they have released (so-far 😉 ).  Also found this one unopened but it was a little more pricey.  Price Paid: $9.50 (it was worth it)

All in all this was they best day of hunting i’ve had since i began this project!  i saw a few other albums from the list there but i am out of spending money at the moment so maybe next week.  To some up my excitement let me just say that on the way back to my car from the record store i couldn’t help myself from periodically exclaiming “No Freakin Way!”

Leave a Reply

