Ep. 33 – Alchemy and Judaism – Aug 23rd, 2008

A couple days ago i was in meijer picking up a few things and i stopped over in the music section (i need to stop doing that!) I wasn’t surprised that their selection wasn’t very big but i did find something worthwhile!

“The Alchemy Index Vol. 3+4: Air + Earth” – Thrice

Ever since i got the first part of this concept album project a month or two ago i have been keeping my eyes open for this set (the second half). This 2 disc “album” is very good, a total of 12 songs split between two discs – each is dedicated to it’s respective element and each has a different sound. Air is pretty cool. Floaty, ethereal Post-Hardcore is what this disc, but they don’t depart to far from the classic Thrice sound. I haven’t listened to this disc that much thought really because i have been all about the other disc: earth. I do have to mention two songs though. “A Song for Milly Michaelson,” the third track on this disc is one of my favorites on the album. Simple acoustic guitar and vocals. In the background one can hear a haunting wind sound and faint wind-chimes. Minimal percussion adds to the depth and feel of the song. It’s a beautifully crafted crystalline song full of deep emotion. “Daedalus,” the very next track shows that Dustin Kensrue likes the story of Icarus. This song is once again uses the story of Icarus from Greek mythology as an allegory. Daedalus is Icarus’ father and the song is written as a warning from father to son. It is very moving and i think it can also be related to the relationship between us and Father God, and I believe that is what Dustin intended to convey. By far my favorite disc of the two was Earth though. Earth is more of a departure from the Thrice we know. It is sort of a Thrice “unplugged,” where most if not all of the instruments used are acoustic. The theme seems to revolve around death, dying or returning to the dust… Every song on this disc is beautiful and i was surprised that Thrice could be so versatile as to write songs so different from the style they are known for, yet so good… Earth also features a cover of the Frodus song “The Earth isn’t Humming.” I was surprised when i heard this because Frodus is a very underground punk band that disbanded a few years ago. They were a band with christian members much like Thrice and i can’t help but think this cover was fitting. It’s nice to hear their take on a Frodus song i have been enjoying for years. The first track on the disc, “Moving Mountains” is great, very bluesy… I don’t really know how to describe just how different this whole Alchemy Index series is from Thrice’s earlier work but i encourage you to check them out because Thrice hit it out of the park with each style they tried!!


Vol. III – Air:

  1. “Broken Lungs” – 4:14
  2. “The Sky Is Falling” – 4:21
  3. “A Song for Milly Michaelson” – 5:07
  4. Daedalus” – 6:00
  5. “As the Crow Flies” – 2:22
  6. “Silver Wings” – 2:10

Vol. IV – Earth

  1. “Moving Mountains” – 2:55
  2. “Digging My Own Grave” – 3:04
  3. “The Earth Isn’t Humming” (Frodus cover) – 4:58
  4. “The Lion and the Wolf” – 2:42
  5. Come All You Weary” – 4:08
  6. “Child of Dust” – 3:09

Price Paid: $14.99 (well, considering i paid $0.94 for the other half of this 4-disc set, i did ok…)

Today I went to Meijer again and got another album, which will hopefully be the last one from there for a little while (they didn’t have much anyway.)

“Youth” – Matisyahu

I got into Matisyahu during Christmas break of my freshman year of college. I downloaded all his stuff on Christmas day and his albums are among some of the last i downloaded. Matisyahu is a Jewish Reggae artist. I really like his music and the lyrics are really good too! He is singing about the same God anyway! This album is very catchy and is worth checking out if you like Reggae or if you are curious.


  1. “Fire of Heaven/Altar of Earth” – 3:59
  2. “Youth” – 4:18
  3. “Time of Your Song” – 4:27
  4. “Dispatch the Troops” – 4:05
  5. “Indestructible” – 4:09
  6. “What I’m Fighting For” – 2:11
  7. Jerusalem” – 4:00
  8. “WP” – 3:58
  9. “Shalom/Saalam” – 1:06
  10. “Late Night in Zion” – 3:13
  11. “Unique is My Dove” – 3:24
  12. “Ancient Lullaby” – 4:18
  13. King without a Crown” – 3:42

Price Paid: $13.99

Got a few more albums coming in the mail, but i got a good deal on those so i won’t be going broke, lol. Hope you are enjoying the little more in-depth reviews and such, since I’m getting fewer albums right now I’m trying to write a bit more and trying to keep this blog interesting… Remember feedback is always appreciated! Check back soon!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s